First-Time Dad by John Fuller

I wrote recently on the idea that Fathers Matter.


In First-Time Dad, John Fuller provides some helpful reflections, ideas, and insights for guys about to start this incredible journey of fatherhood.

This book is not a “how-to” of being a dad. Nor is it a book on theory of parenting. It’s not an exposition of the theme from scripture. It’s not even exactly an advice book.

The best way I can think to describe it is like the conversations a young guy would have with an older, experienced dad at a coffee shop over the course of a few Saturday mornings.

Imagine the conversations you would have if you sat down and asked about:

“What expectations should I have?”

“What is fatherhood all about?”

“How do I balance time and priorities?”

“How will the baby change our family?”

“How do I love my wife and my baby’s mother?”

“What if it’s a boy? What if it’s a girl?”

Plus a few more questions…

That’s what this book is. It’s thoughtful reflections on topics like these. It’s full of great ideas and tips. It’s not a how-to book though, but a book of ideas, questions to ask, ways to think.

It was a helpful book to read in the weeks leading up to fatherhood and in the weeks since.

If you are about to become a father this would be a great book to pick up and mull over. If you know someone who is about to start that journey, this is a great gift that you could share with them.

DISCLAIMER: I received a free evaluation copy of this book. I did not receive any monetary payment nor was I required to write a positive review. I hope my comments about the book will help you evaluate whether or not the book is worth purchasing and reading.

Leave a Reply

