The Unexamined Life↑

It’s been a little while since I’ve posted. I have a few book reviews coming shortly. But wanted to just share a quick thought I had today while listening to a podcast.

The speaker was talking about the problem of pleasure. We often consider the problem of pain. When life goes wrong people tend to question the justness or the fairness. If they have a belief in God perhaps they wonder about his character. If they are considering God perhaps at this point they blame him or reject him because pain is hard. We can all resonate to this challenge in some way, I think.

What about the problem of pleasure?

The speaker borrowed an illustration from a book that I’ve heard often referenced that unfortunately I haven’t read yet (and refers to two others that I also want to read!). In the introduction to Amusing Ourselves to Death, Neil Postman contrasts the conceptions that two authors had of the future. On the one hand is George Orwell’s 1984and on the author is Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World. In the one life is so restricted that people are unable to think. In the other people are so saturated with distractions they are unable to think. The illustration is further developed and showed how easily the enjoyable can detract from the meaningful.

This is a problem I face myself – often. It is easy to get caught up in the endless pursuit of…pursuing something anything. Really just chasing distraction – grasping after wind. In this sense it is an unexamined life.

Is that a goal worth chasing?

1 thought on “The Unexamined Life↑”

  1. Jay,
    Looking forward to more on this topic. I always wanted to read Orwell’s and Huxley’s books side by side with my seniors when teaching high school. The contrast is quite interesting and I find it even more interesting that we hear so many decrying the loss of private freedoms these days. It seems to me that Huxly was closer to reality. It is not so much that we are loosing our freedoms as we are giving our freedom away to a form of slavery to entertainment and endless information. I’d write more, but I need to go read some more blogs, check email again and check out today’s news one more time. Oh, and I need to go get my daily dose of Tebow News. Glad to have stumbled onto your blog today.
    A fellow Istanbulite,
    Aaron

Leave a Reply

